Stuff


 

As the Holidays approach, I always get mixed feelings running through my system. Don’t get me wrong~ I love Thanksgiving and Christmas, just as much as the next gal. I love the fact that families come together, and the excitement radiating from the children….but, what I DON’T like is all the STUFF! The media bombards us with the Stuff Factor, from late September (Halloween) all the way through late December (After Christmas sales). WHY??? I heard a quote once that said that people keep spending money they don’t have, to buy STUFF they don’t need, to impress people they don’t like. That’s it in a nutshell. It’s very unnerving.

My thoughts meander, as they do every year around this time, to a life of Simplicity. I must admit, that I have been reading a few blogs on Minimalism, but that’s just TOO eccentric for my taste. But, Oh~the joy of the word: Simplify. The sounds of it bring a smile to my face. Unfortunately, for most people, the word can be deceiving. Simplifying is NOT simple!! It is an effort, with lots of hard decision making…and yes, maybe even a few tears. If you have ever watched Little House On The Prairie, The Waltons, or the movie Little Women,  you will see the beauty of a Simple Holiday season. My~how the focus has changed in our day!

So, this Holiday season, I am making a conscious effort to try and overlook the Mass Media. Yes, we will celebrate the season. Yes, my kids will get Christmas gifts. Yes, we will put up the tree. But maybe I will go to a few fewer parties, buy a few less gifts, decorate the tree with a few of Mother Nature’s ornaments: and give my family the gift of simplicity. How about you?

 
About Jenny Harrah

I am a daughter of God, the 22 year wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three beautiful children~ Ethan, age 21; Israel, age 18; and our princess Eden Rose, age 11. I live in the Eastern part of Tennessee, having transplanted from Virginia in my early teenage years. I enjoy reading, sewing, bargain hunting, and eating chocolate! I am blessed with a wonderful church family, and many, MANY friends~ whom I love dearly! God has been so good to me, and I pray He will do the same for you~
This entry was posted in Deep thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

