Halfway Homesteading


 

Our barn door

Those of you who know me, even just a little, know that I sort-of have a split personality. On the one hand, I like clothes, shoes, and purses..and want to try to look as purdy as this old earthly body the Lord stuck me with will get! BUT, the other me…she’s the one that wins out most of the time. She dreams of ‘halfway homesteading”. Halfway Homesteading? What’s that, you might ask. Well, I just want my favorite homesteading parts..but I want to leave the other parts alone….(you know~ the really HARD parts-haha) We moved out to the country several years ago, and the first thing we did was put our big garden in. So, I taught myself to can. I really enjoy it~but don’t test me about that statement on a day when I’ve just canned 52 quarts of beans!

The "boys"

Next homesteading idea? Chickens! Now, I was planning on maybe five or six chickens to get started. I saw an ad on FreeCycle, where a lady wanted to get rid of two Buff Orpington roosters for free. FREE is for me! So I thought that they would be a good start to our chicken adventure. Roosters are noisy. They are fun, and cute to watch..but, did I tell you roosters were noisy? THEY. ARE. NOISY. Anyway, my darling husband (who’s common thought is: If one of something is good for you, then TEN of them must be REALLY good for you!) decided it was time to get some Hens. I was thinking, you know, five or six….but, no. He ordered 25. The company always sends extras, plus a rare breed extra for fun. So, we ended up with 29 chickens total! They have been a joy~and SO fun! But that is ALOT of birds wandering around. We did lose one of the original roosters to a local dog last month. ;0{ Guess it decided that the chicken looked “done” and wanted to taste test it. Poor thing. Needless to say, it IS a little quieter around here..and a little sad to see the one lonely rooster hovering around the “girls”.  We are expecting egg laying within the month~so keep an eye out for my future posts on that!

The "girls" as babies

Future homestead plans include getting a pig. I think one every other year should keep us in a good supply of bacon, ham and pork chops. We make sausage out of the venison that all my “guys” bring home each season, so won’t need Mr. Piggy for that. I would also like two cows. One for butchering, and one for selling at market to get the money to buy two more cows! haha! And I definitely have plans for more fruit bushes and trees around our property…

Our 2010 garden

Full time homesteaders are HARD CORE! Alot of them live off the land~ literally. They compost everything, including human waste. They don’t use electricity or city water. They eat only what they produce or can find locally. (Um- THAT alone would count me out, since I have YET to see a local producer of chocolate around here!) They just make do, or do without. I’m not saying these things are wrong. I’m just saying they are wrong for me!

So, you see…I can only ever “halfway homestead”, since I can’t very well feed the livestock, pick berries, and can veggies all day in my Jimmy Choo’s (no, I don’t actually own a pair..but a girl can dream), carrying my Coach purse (bought at the outlet, of course), and wearing my Ralph Lauren outfit (bought second hand, no less)..now can I????

About Jenny Harrah

I am a daughter of God, the 22 year wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three beautiful children~ Ethan, age 21; Israel, age 18; and our princess Eden Rose, age 11. I live in the Eastern part of Tennessee, having transplanted from Virginia in my early teenage years. I enjoy reading, sewing, bargain hunting, and eating chocolate! I am blessed with a wonderful church family, and many, MANY friends~ whom I love dearly! God has been so good to me, and I pray He will do the same for you~
This entry was posted in Homesteading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

