Thanksgiving


 

So, this is Thanksgiving week. I, like all of you, have much to be thankful for. We live in America. The land of Freedom. Most of us have a some sort of roof over our heads, food in our bellies, friends and loved ones close to heart. We all have a Heavenly Father who cares, and loves us unconditionally~ the list is endless!

For some of us, though, Thanksgiving might be a little sad. My grandmother passed away several years ago, only a few days after Thanksgiving. And two years ago, my beloved aunt passed away the very day we left my cousin’s house, after our Family Thanksgiving Weekend together. It is a hard thing, to be happy and thankful, yet sad and thoughtful at once. Sometimes, it feels as if you have a split personality; trying to show the happy face to the world, and silently hurting deep inside at the thought of missing loved ones gone before. Holidays are just not quite the same without them.

This Thanksgiving, I challenge each of you to make that special effort to let your loved ones know you care. Take a moment to call, email, text, or visit those whom you cherish. You really never know if it will be the last Holiday you get to spend with them…and you can only be left with Thankfullness that you have let someone feel they are loved. Have a blessed Holiday, friends. Happy Thanksgiving.

About Jenny Harrah

I am a daughter of God, the 22 year wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three beautiful children~ Ethan, age 21; Israel, age 18; and our princess Eden Rose, age 11. I live in the Eastern part of Tennessee, having transplanted from Virginia in my early teenage years. I enjoy reading, sewing, bargain hunting, and eating chocolate! I am blessed with a wonderful church family, and many, MANY friends~ whom I love dearly! God has been so good to me, and I pray He will do the same for you~
This entry was posted in Deep thoughts, Holidays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

