Three Gifts


Some of you may find this VERY hard to believe, BUT, we only get our children three gifts each for Christmas. WHAT??!!??!! Yep…just three. Are you officially shocked? Here’s my reasoning:

First, I feel like that is plenty. After all is said and done, and they open gifts from grandma, grandpa, aunts, uncles, and friends -they have a ton of new stuff. Second, it’s a whole lot simpler to just have to worry about finding three gifts for each child. (Once, I tried the dollar amount method for each child, but that ended in disaster~ one child got two gifts for 100.00, and the other child, got like, six!) My final reason is that three gifts were good enough for Jesus, so it is plenty good enough for us! :o}

The kids have acclimated to our “method” quite well. They give me a list of several items they would like to have. I choose one BIG item off the list, then get one smaller item, and one clothing item. The rest of the items on their list, I hint to frantic relatives who call from Toys R Us seeking a quick response to “What does your kid want for Christmas this year?” It’s a win/win situation.

So, as we get closer to that blessed Christmas day, let’s not forget about the “Reason for the Season”. Try to simplify your life. Cut down the Greed Monster in your little one. You  might find that three gifts will be plenty for your child, too.

About Jenny Harrah

I am a daughter of God, the 22 year wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three beautiful children~ Ethan, age 21; Israel, age 18; and our princess Eden Rose, age 11. I live in the Eastern part of Tennessee, having transplanted from Virginia in my early teenage years. I enjoy reading, sewing, bargain hunting, and eating chocolate! I am blessed with a wonderful church family, and many, MANY friends~ whom I love dearly! God has been so good to me, and I pray He will do the same for you~
This entry was posted in Holidays and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

