What a week!


I’m THANKING GOD that it will soon be Friday, which will ring in the weekend, which will bring me to the close of One. Awful. Week.!

It didn’t start out awful…Sunday, (although very sleepy from a family party for my 16 yr. old and the time change to boot) we had a lovely day. We went to church; then to my mother’s house for some yummy fried chicken and her famous biscuits; bought a new-to-us swimming pool that I had been searching for FOREVA; and had my daughter’s sixth birthday at Chuck E. Cheese.

The party was totally worth the exorbitant price, since all I had to do was show up, and pass out tokens! The manager even came to us at the end and gave us over 100 more tokens for free (??!!?!!) which we are saving for a later date. You have never seen a child more excited than my little princess! The other good thing was the fact that I only let her invite two friends, besides cousins, and no one seemed to notice the lack thereof. I will definitely be adjusting the guest list from now on.

The bad part started Monday morning. David had a business trip scheduled for this week, so we got up and commenced to get him on the road, and I to my job. As I travelled to work, David called me and informs me that he just found out that our closest, most treasured neighbor had unexpectedly passed away on Saturday. Tim was not your run-of-the-mill neighbor that you just waved at in passing. He was the kind of neighbor that showed up on your doorstep with buckets of overflowing vegetables; called to ask if you had any trash to take to the dump, since he was heading that way; drove his tractor to your house to plow and till your garden every year…without you even asking; invited your family to his home for fish fries and fellowship; and in all honesty, kind of became a father figure to me, once my own dad had passed away. I was devastated.

So, I trudged on to work, driving through tears and sorrow..and somehow made it through the day. Tuesday was Ethan’s actual birthday day, so I took him and his friend, William, to Fun Expedition to play video games, Laser tag and Go karts…THAT day was okay, which was a good thing, because Wednesday was a COMPLETE disaster!

Wednesday, I had to work, and then planned on rushing home to pick up the kids, dress them for Tim’s wake, run through McDonald’s (since this was Eden’s actual birthday day) and head to the funeral home to pay my last respects…by. myself. with. three. kids… (Remember, David is not home this week, so I have had no help, solace, or comfort.)

So, we get to the funeral home around 6:30, and I should have KNOWN by the parking situation that things were not looking good. Tim must have known everyone in town, because the wake had started at 2:00, and the line was STILL snaked all the way around the funeral home. We got in line at 6:30, and around 8:15 we finally made it into the room where the family and body were gathered. There were about 25 people in front of me, when Eden runs up to me with THAT look on her face~ “Mommy, I have to throw up!!! BBBLLLUUUURRRPPPPP!!!!!! ” Luckily, I was holding her coat in my arms, so I stuck her head into it. It helped some, but she upchucked three times before I could get her out of the line and into the coat closet to take stock of my situation. I left her in the closet (more like a little hallway/room) with her brother. I stomped passed those 25 other mourners, butted all the way up to the front of the line, told Tim a quick goodbye, hurriedly hugged his wife and daughter, and skeedaddled out of there faster than you can imagine! I stripped Eden’s clothes off at the door of the van, wrapped her in my coat, and headed home.

Once I get home, I took her in the house and set her in the recliner, while I got her vomit covered clothes sprayed down at the water hose, when Israel cames running out to say “she just did it again”. AND THAT WAS THE THEME FOR THE NIGHT!!! TWELVE TIMES!!!  Did I mention that David always cleans up the vomit at our house, because I get sick myself at the sight and smell of it??????!!!! AND HE’S NOT HOME!!!!!!!

So, this is Thursday night…..Eden woke up at eight this morning feeling perfectly fine, ready to get up and play. I, on the other hand, was a complete Zombie, since I hadn’t much sleep, with keeping one ear opened for the “pre-vomit” cough. I am also devastated that I could not make it to the actual funeral of my beloved neighbor today~I mean, how COULD I show my face after such an embarrassing escapade?

Friday….I love you. Please bring a nice weekend. I sure need it!!

About Jenny Harrah

I am a daughter of God, the 22 year wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three beautiful children~ Ethan, age 21; Israel, age 18; and our princess Eden Rose, age 11. I live in the Eastern part of Tennessee, having transplanted from Virginia in my early teenage years. I enjoy reading, sewing, bargain hunting, and eating chocolate! I am blessed with a wonderful church family, and many, MANY friends~ whom I love dearly! God has been so good to me, and I pray He will do the same for you~
This entry was posted in Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What a week!

  1. Hope Swims says:

    So sorry you had a not so good week….Ive always heard when it rains it pours…but it will get better. Glad you little one is feeling so much better. So soory for your neighbor tho. I can related to that…we lost our neighbor last fall. He was much like your…he would always bring me fresh garden veggies and leave them on my doorstep so I would find them when i came home and he would always come fix things around the house for me when John would be too busy to do them or he would just stop by to just say hi to John when he was outside working in the yard. He just over exerted himself one afternoon when him and John were outside and fell over dead in our yard. It was awful. He is very much missed. Glad to hear that David has found himself such a good wife to keep him lined out! lol Love you blogs…keep them coming.

    • Jenny Harrah says:

      Thank you, Hope! Good neighbors are hard to come by now-a-days. I appreciate your kind words! And…David sure needed somebody to straighten him out..it’s a full time job, but he’s getting better… HAHA!

Leave a Reply

