Birthday Week


March Babies

Last week, we celebrated my son, Ethan’s, 16th birthday. Man, time sure flies! It seems like only a few years ago,  I was 16 and running barefoot around Bay’s Mountain Park, throwing water on any boy that would stand still long enough for me to drench…anyhoo….Lona made him this German chocolate cake with four…yes, FOUR..cans of frosting~

Death by Frosting!

It was quite yummy, even if you could only eat a small slice! He wanted money (of course) so he got that, instead of the usual big party.

He's taller than me!

but, not quite taller than his daddy...

Ethan’s birthday is March 15th. Eden Rose’s birthday is March 16th! Ten years and one day apart~Boy, WHAT was I thinking???? She wanted her party at Chuck E. Cheese, and THAT was a blast (for her! haha)

Eden and Chuck~ 6th birthday party

 
In other news…we’ve been searching for a while for a permanent pool to place in our yard. We’ve bought several “Blue Pools” from Walmart and ToysRUs over the years, but I really wanted something a bit more stable. My darling sweetie found this one on Craigslist last Sunday, and the PRICE WAS RIGHT! Not to mention, when we pulled up to look at it, I realized that I had worked in the hospital billing department with it’s owner..so, I felt safer in knowing I was purchasing something from someone I knew. Thank God for being mindful of the little things we desire!

Our new pool before we transported it home

We spent the weekend at the Bristol Motor Speedway for the Nascar Race, which was quite amusing. I must admit, I am not a huge fan of racing, per say…more like a huge fan of WRECKING! My main purpose while I’m there is to look for any telltale sign of smoke coming out from a car. Now, don’t get me wrong..I don’t want to see a wreck like Dale Sr…but a good fender bender makes the tickets so worthwhile. I’m twisted. I know. My second purpose is to renew my faith that my life decision to NOT become a drunk is still a good, valid choice!!! People that drink excessively are idiots. Complete and utter idiots. Nuff Said…

Reporting on Farm life is the meshing of the baby flock into the mature flock. I am happy to report that, after day one, there is nothing to report. The baby chicks just wandered around the coop, pecking around. The big chickens, for the most part, ignored them completely. We will know more in the morning, since this will be the first NIGHT all of them spend together with no wall to separate them. I sure hope we don’t open the coop to 25 wounded babies tomorrow!

Pancake the Pig is getting fat and sassy. I have been opening the windows during the day to let the Spring weather in, and have been noticing some strange smells wafting by. David will need to get that pig in the pasture VERY soon! That’s all I have to say about that.

And you can now congratulate me on posting to my blog so swiftly. I TOLD you that I would do better 😮

About Jenny Harrah

I am a daughter of God, the 22 year wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three beautiful children~ Ethan, age 21; Israel, age 18; and our princess Eden Rose, age 11. I live in the Eastern part of Tennessee, having transplanted from Virginia in my early teenage years. I enjoy reading, sewing, bargain hunting, and eating chocolate! I am blessed with a wonderful church family, and many, MANY friends~ whom I love dearly! God has been so good to me, and I pray He will do the same for you~
This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

