Bee Edition


Bee Babies heading home to Rock Bottom Farm

We finally got the news that our bees would be ready for pick up today. All 20,000 of them! WOW~ We never seem to gradually ease into things around here. We just head full force into it, and let the chips fall where they may. So far, this method has worked pretty well, regarding our “farming” expeditions. Yep, that’s a good thing! All that’s left, now, is to cross our fingers and pray that the little guys know what they are doing (and what they SHOULDn’t be doing~ like STINGING me!) haha…

David says he had them crawling all over him today, as he was putting them into the hives, and he never got stung once. Crawling animals, clustered together in tight formation, has always freaked me out, so I will just take his word for it. Just “show me the honey” LOL! That’s all I’m really after. The honey. and the money… of course…

The bees, making themselves at home in the hive

So, I guess this means that Rock Bottom Farm has branched out into a new little business..adding to our egg production. Things are moving right along. And let’s not forget that Pancake, the pig, will be ready for the freezer in a few months…..She’s growing stinkier by the day! ugh! What next, you might ask…..Well, maybe a goat, because cows have gone sky high, and a little beyond our budget…or I might like to branch out with some fruit..Any suggestions?

About Jenny Harrah

I am a daughter of God, the 22 year wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three beautiful children~ Ethan, age 21; Israel, age 18; and our princess Eden Rose, age 11. I live in the Eastern part of Tennessee, having transplanted from Virginia in my early teenage years. I enjoy reading, sewing, bargain hunting, and eating chocolate! I am blessed with a wonderful church family, and many, MANY friends~ whom I love dearly! God has been so good to me, and I pray He will do the same for you~
This entry was posted in Homesteading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bee Edition

  1. Hope Swims says:

    Good Luck with the bees…I have a friend on facebook that has bees and she makes all kinds of things with her honey….candy, soap and a bunch of other stuff…her name is Terri Priest…she would be glad to give you some pointers if you need them…

    If you guys lived closer I would give you a goat…we have got several and they multiply like flies! When they have ababies they have 2-3 at a time. its crazy!

    Good luck with that little farm of your. If I live closer I would be hitting you up for eggs…lol and honey and milk and beef and veggies and whatever else you will be having…lol

Leave a Reply

