Living the Life of Riley


Well, I can’t believe a month has come and gone since the tornado disaster struck our home and lives. The time has sure flown by~ We are now moved in with the ole in-laws, and are just living the “life of Riley”….getting our laundry washed for us, most meals cooked, housecleaning taken care of, and just all around getting spoiled! I told Lona that if she keeps it up, we will quit searching for a place of our own, and just live with them. Needless to say, this morning, I woke up to no coffee, breakfast, or smiles! hahahahahaha …yes, Lona, I got the hint!!!

But, we ARE still searching for a home of our own. Relentlessly. Have you ever been shopping with a wallet full of money, and you go to the mall where you browse and browse, just dying to spend a boatload, only to come out with NOTHING? And, have you ever gone to the mall completely broke, just to go “window” shopping, and see everything in the world that you are just dying to buy?? You girls KNOW what I’m talking about! That’s the way it is with house hunting. When you are just dreaming of a home (while snuggly wrapped in a warm blanket in the cozy house you already live in) and you look through a real estate book, you see TONS of houses that you would just love to move in. But, if you are homeless, and you NEED to move into a new house..let me be the first to tell you…there ain’t much out there! Just trust me on this. Don’t put it to the test. I don’t want a bunch of homeless people on my conscience.

Eden Rose was in the car the other day, and randomly asking me how to spell words. “Momma, how do you spell ‘tornado’?”  “Momma, how do you spell ‘Dear’?” I would call the letters out to her, and could see her studiously writing in her booster seat. When we arrived at our destination, she presented me with this:

It says:

Dear God,

Our house got hit by a tornado

We are looking for a house to live in and

you love us and we love you to

(and then, there’s Barbie, and a self portrait with humongous lips)

R.O.T.F.L! Poor thing..Maybe I should find a babysitter when we go on our next round of house hunting!!! :o) Seriously though, I hope the Lord reads this and moves quickly. I’m getting pretty tired searching. It’s really no fun when you know you HAVE to find a home.

Here’s a picture that David took from our land in Greeneville. I must say, it was quite a beautiful property….so, you see why it’s hard for me to find something comparable in a month’s time:

And in other news: My handsome son, Ethan, attended the Spring Youth Banquet last Friday, and my darling daughter, Eden graduated from Kindergarten last Monday:

So, you see, we are functioning just fine, for now. We are trusting that God is going to do great things for us. AND, we are just gonna keep on living the life of Riley as long as the in-laws will stand for it ;o)

About Jenny Harrah

I am a daughter of God, the 22 year wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three beautiful children~ Ethan, age 21; Israel, age 18; and our princess Eden Rose, age 11. I live in the Eastern part of Tennessee, having transplanted from Virginia in my early teenage years. I enjoy reading, sewing, bargain hunting, and eating chocolate! I am blessed with a wonderful church family, and many, MANY friends~ whom I love dearly! God has been so good to me, and I pray He will do the same for you~
This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Living the Life of Riley

  1. doris says:

    ..just been supertouched by that cute letter.., one day, when we come back to Tennessee I wanna meet that sweetheart.., could you guys not rebuild a house at the spot there?–in the meantime.. maybe to cheer you guys up.. have a look at this guy called “Nick Vujicic” at youtube.. you would be so amazed!
    God bless
    doris ( Joe and jennifer stayed here last year, that is how we know about you and I think, I remember Jenny..)

    • Jenny Harrah says:

      Hi Doris!
      I seem to faintly remember you, too~ I sure hope you guys get back to Tennessee soon, and I will introduce you to my little genius ;o) Techinically, we could build on our property in Greeneville, but it is an EXTREMELY windy area. I’m concerned that we would live in a state of fear, and I just would rather move on from the painful memory. Greeneville was quite a distance from our church, so we are currently looking for something closer to the church..especially, since the kids are getting older, and are wanting to fellowship with the teenagers! Thanks for the sweet comment, and for taking the time to read my silly ramblings………….

  2. Lona Harrah says:

    OK, so Jenny thinks this is the life of riley, just wait until she gets her first bill! I don’t work cheap!
    Just kidding! God has surely blessed us with the best daughter-in-laws in the world.
    I just can’t comprehend why families don’t get along with each other. Don’t get me wrong, we don’t always agree, but we do try to understand one another. No one is always right and no one is perfect.
    But Gary and I are truly blessed when it comes to our children and their spouses.
    Love you all dearly! Lona & Gary

Leave a Reply

