I’m SO not a blogger…..


Well, guess I’m just doomed to being the occasional blogger. I’m definitely not cut out to do this full time. I don’t think my thoughts run that deep every. single. day!!!

So, we’ve had loads of changes and updates since my last post. Originally, we were looking at Real Estate that was already on the market to replace our previous home. After many (and I do mean MANY) hours searching, looking at, and rejecting so called “homes” for sale, I was totally disgusted with our local offerings.

Instead of stressing over the whole ordeal, I decided that my family needed a vacation.

1. We have not been alone, as a family, since April 27, 2011

2. It was my only week off work for the summer

3. The beach was calling my name: LOUDLY!

So, I scheduled a trip for us to go to Myrtle. We had a wonderful time, even if the beach was crowded with all sorts of folks, who would have done well to look in the mirror before they walked out in that “bathing suit”! We ate at Benjamin’s; walked around The Marketplace Commons and visited some of my favorite stores- Anthroplogie, Pottery Barn, Williams Sonoma, and P.F. Changs; took the kids to Midieval Times;  compared two dozen Dunkin Donuts to two dozen Krispy Kreme’s (KK won out, but of course, that was totally expected); and spent hours on the sand, soaking in the calming waves, luscious sun, and breathtaking breezes! We came back refreshed and ready for a new outlook on the future.

So, on the drive, I told David that I thought we should look for land to buy, and get a place put on that. It may not be cheaper than buying a home on the market at first, but at least, you don’t have to spend thousands of dollars fixing up someone else’s garbage, and everything will be NEW! I like New! New is nice, clean, not dirty, sturdy, safer, better, unused, plus it smells better!!!

Our search then focused on finding land. HAHA. We live in East Tennessee. All the flat land has been taken for all those “houses” (read- shacks) we were talking about earlier. All the “rolling hill” land is what’s for sale. “Rolling Hill” in Tennessee terms mean: straight up and down a mountainous cliff- but it has a beautiful building spot at the top (or at least that’s what all the seller’s kept telling me). Finally, I looked on one of my favorite sites: Craigslist, and found us some land in just a few minutes. David went the next day to look at it, and we are closing this coming week on a 1.1 acre lot! yay!http://tnmap.state.tn.us/assessment/map.aspx?GISLink=010028++++06902

David also has a friend that sells Modular homes, and we have decided to purchase one as our base. The top-level comes unfinished, and we are planning to get most of the bottom unfinished, so that we can get it the way we want it…not to mention, David has a lot of contacts in the construction business, that have offered to give us some exceptional deals! Things seem to be working good! http://www.nationwide-homes.com/main.cfm?pagename=plandetail&planId=1177

The next hangup, though, is to go through the SBA government disaster loan program. We should be starting that process sometime next week, so I’m asking everyone to keep us in your prayers that things will go smoothly…….

In other news, one of our baby chicks laid its first egg this week! That makes two egg layers, now. It’s a far cry from getting 22 eggs a day, but do not despise small beginnings. Pancake the pig is getting HUGE, and we will need to be sending him to the happy land of Slop Heaven pretty soon, and the bees are producing honey at an alarming rate. My in-law’s garden had its first harvest yesterday, so I suppose I will be right at home, canning and helping with that. Hopefully, if I’m a good girl and help out, they will give me a little to get me through the winter, until I can get my little homestead up and running again :o) One acre is a lot smaller than our 3.5 acre Rock Bottom Farm, but if you’ve read the bookThe BackYard Homestead, you know that you can do a LOT on one acre! Wish me luck…….

About Jenny Harrah

I am a daughter of God, the 22 year wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three beautiful children~ Ethan, age 21; Israel, age 18; and our princess Eden Rose, age 11. I live in the Eastern part of Tennessee, having transplanted from Virginia in my early teenage years. I enjoy reading, sewing, bargain hunting, and eating chocolate! I am blessed with a wonderful church family, and many, MANY friends~ whom I love dearly! God has been so good to me, and I pray He will do the same for you~
This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

