The economic meltdown


Doom. Gloom. Doom and Gloom…

Yeah, I clicked on a link tonight. A news related link regarding the budget talks the U.S is having. I totally should not have done that. As a rule, I don’t like news. I almost got divorced over the news once. Well, not really divorced…..but really, really, REALLY mad about it. David had his alarm clock set to the news. WHAT??!!??!! The straw that broke the camels back was the time I was woke up to a detailed report of somebody killing somebody else…talk about starting the day off on the WRONG foot (or in this case, ear!) Either I went, or the setting on the alarm. Thankfully, David chose me over the news.

Part of me wants to know what is going on in the world, but the other part of me doesn’t. I don’t want to know the horrors that a little baby suffered before it’s untimely death. If I don’t hear about the Tsunami and it’s devastation, I won’t feel guilty that I can’t do a single thing about it. If I don’t hear that my friend’s son has been sentenced to jail, then I won’t have to feel awkward the next time I speak to them. But, the tornado has changed me a little. I still don’t LIKE the news, but if it wasn’t for the news, people wouldn’t have heard about MY sorrows; MY trials; MY devastation. So, I am making an effort to look at it occasionally…

Which leads me to tonight’s story: Which leads me to a panicked frenzy: Which leads me to be reminded that “Casting all your cares on HIM, for HE careth for you”, and a host of other Scriptures I’ve been telling myself this evening. Ultimately, the economy is not in Mr. Obama’s hands. It’s not in the U.S. governments’ hands. It’s not in the Roman Catholic churches hand. It’s in only ONE hand, and that’s God’s. I can’t change it….and that’s the struggle. I like to be in control. SO, one (yes, there are plenty more) of my daily struggles is to “let go, and let God”. HA! Way easier said than done!

Am I nervous about August 2, 2011? A little.

Hey, I’m homeless…give me a break. If the government fails, where does that leave me in my “borrowing from the disaster loan program” plan? haha….But, I know HE will take care of me. We have land. With lots of woods. Worse comes to worse, we’ll build a stick house, use a good ole outhouse, eat canned goods, and live off the tornado damaged stock pile for a while! Sure hope there’s a creek near my new property….

One thing I do have control over, though, is how I manage my actions day by day. Every day we have decisions to make. Thousands of them. * Do I NEED this, or do I just WANT it* *Should I buy this, or pay my bills* *Can I give this $10 to someone in need, or am I thirsty for Starbucks* OOooooo, wait…..That’s a little TOO close to where we all live!!!! Sorry about that……. back to the list….. *Do I want to walk around all glum-faced with worry, or do I want to put my trust in God* ??? Decisions, decisions.

For now, my next decisions is to eschew the news for a while!

About Jenny Harrah

I am a daughter of God, the 22 year wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three beautiful children~ Ethan, age 21; Israel, age 18; and our princess Eden Rose, age 11. I live in the Eastern part of Tennessee, having transplanted from Virginia in my early teenage years. I enjoy reading, sewing, bargain hunting, and eating chocolate! I am blessed with a wonderful church family, and many, MANY friends~ whom I love dearly! God has been so good to me, and I pray He will do the same for you~
This entry was posted in Deep thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

