Anyone have some Calgon?


My life is so wonderful. Things always go so smoothly for me, and I never go through any of those “ordeals” that OTHER people seem to always go through.

Of course, I’m being sarcastic here…..

Last Friday, my mother-in-law called and told me that her landlord said that she wanted to move back into the home we are living in, and that we had 30 days to vacate. That was a stressful moment.
Saturday, we had to use over 60 pounds of bacon to wrap hundreds and hundreds of deer nuggets for our annual church Fall Festival. It took us almost 7 hours. That was a stressful day.
Sunday, I spent most of the day running back and forth between keeping hundreds of people’s thirst at bay, running after my six-year-old, keeping weirdo’s at arm’s length from my pretty friends, and making sure my husband didn’t die from smoke inhalation while grilling all day.

That was another stressful day.

Monday, I woke up with a MIGRAINE from the fiery pits! I had to press on and get dressed to be at the bank to sign the closing loan papers on our building loan. We arrive, and were promptly informed that we were missing ONE permit. STRESS! They let us do a “dry” signing until the permit could be picked up the next day. Still stressed, with a migraine to boot.
Tuesday, I went with some of my buddies for a “shopping” day in Asheville, Nc. This was not one of those “just for fun” trips. This was hardcore shopping, from 10:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m., with ONE..count them..ONE break. We finally got to eat dinner at around 10:30 p.m., and then we had to drive all the way home. Oh. And I still had a migraine.
Wednesday, my mother-in-law informs me that they don’t want to pay for another month of rent, so we all need to be out of the house by October 12th. WHAT?! So, I have to worry about finding a place to live, moving the stuff we are using at my in-laws home, sorting through our storage unit to find the tornado damaged items that are still useable for our NEW place to live, and buying the items we need that we don’t have! Plus, working part-time, and home schooling the kids.
THEN, I got to my mother’s house, and she tells me that she may move this month, and if she does, we will need to move our chicken coop off her property, and find a home for our cat.
Later Wednesday night, Israel comes into my bedroom crying, because he has some big sores under his arm. They looked horrible. I told him we would call the doctor in the morning to see if they could fit him in.
Our doctor is still in Greeneville, Tn.
Great.
Thursday, I call the doctor and get him scheduled for a later appointment. After the doctor looks at his arm, he proceeds to tell me that Israel has a serious Staph infection, and goes into detail about all the precautions we need to take for the next two weeks/month. He also tells me that if the meds don’t work appropriately, there is a chance Israel will need surgery or hospitalization.
WONDERFUL….. (not)
I’m now officially, totally stressed.
On the 30 minute drive back home from Greeneville, I’m thinking of all the things I need to do……call about that apartment…get the electric and water turned on…sort through storage unit….move our things out of the in-law’s……wash all Israel’s clothes, sheets, in hot water every morning, seperately…get his prescriptions filled…..go to the grocery store, bank, post office….what to fix for dinner……

When, out of the blue, I hear a small voice say “Momma, how DO babies get in their mommy’s belly?”

Calgon~ take me away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

About Jenny Harrah

I am a daughter of God, the 22 year wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three beautiful children~ Ethan, age 21; Israel, age 18; and our princess Eden Rose, age 11. I live in the Eastern part of Tennessee, having transplanted from Virginia in my early teenage years. I enjoy reading, sewing, bargain hunting, and eating chocolate! I am blessed with a wonderful church family, and many, MANY friends~ whom I love dearly! God has been so good to me, and I pray He will do the same for you~
This entry was posted in Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Anyone have some Calgon?

  1. Naomi says:

    You poor thing…I wish I could help you!! I have to admit I cracked up at the “out of the clear blue”!! We will keep you in our prayers….I know that is a lot to have on your plate…..God tries the ones He loves. Love you!!

  2. amber murphy says:

    oh jenny i am so sorry !! I wish that there was something that I could do to help you!! I will be praying for you I love you guys so much !! Things have to look up soon.Yall are always in my thoughts. love amber

  3. Sheri Wiggins says:

    But mom……. I want to know! Jenny, for some reason it seems like life is that way. You will cruise along hitting small bumps along the way when out of the blue your whammyed (prob not spelled right) then your whammed again, then again. Sure wish I could tell you after three whams it’s over. I’m pretty much convinced anymore life is one big huge wham. I know I sound pessimistic, prob. cause I’m feeling that way a little myself right now. I’m headed to the dr. tomorrow (if I can get an. apt. at the health dept.) It appears I may have shingles! Chin up girl, the sun will come out eventually. I think we are really in the polishing up department now. (sometimes I want to say “Lord, I’m shined up enough!) Love you. When your moving into your beautiful new home, it will be worth it.

  4. Jane Stoltz says:

    Jenny, BLESS YOUR HEART! You know the Bible says that GOD will not put anymore on you than you can handle, but you start to wonder. Its like GOD how much more do you think I can take? I am praying for you and your family. Praying things will fall in place with so much ease that you will be amazed! Love yall, Janie

Leave a Reply

