Beginnings…


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Many of my friends have asked for some pictures of our new property, and our building progress. It still seems like a foggy dream right now, but the pictures prove that things are coming along, slowly, but surely.

The picture with a lot of foliage is the beginning pic that show the land as we bought it. It was completely wooded, as it backs directly to the Cherokee National Forest for miles and miles! (and YES! I AM concerned about bears~ You would be too, if you knew you’re husband’s new hobby consists of bees, and HONEY on your one acre lot that backs up to a National Forest…pray for me, ya’ll!)

A few other pics involve us clearing the land. I use the term “us” loosely, as I, personally, didn’t clear one stick off the land! ha! We finally had to hire some help with that. But, we did get HUGE brushpiles marking the progress!

Then we come to the next step of leveling the building site, and putting in the retaining wall. We were not expecting the added expense, or time of adding a retaining wall, but I think it turned out lovely. There is still some back fill work that needs to be done, but these pics are just showing our beginning progress…

There is a picture showing the outline of the footers needing to be dug, then a pic showing the footers after they were dug. One pic of the concrete poured into the footers, and then the final foundation walls that were put in yesterday.

And last, but not least, are a few pics of the view from our property. It is quite lovely, and I think I am going to enjoy looking at these mountains for quite a while!

Delivery date for the mods is November 21st, and they are setting them onto the foundation on the 22nd. After that, we will have to basically “build” the indoor upstairs level from scratch, get septic, electrical, heating, air, flooring, painting, and porch put in. THEN, maybe we can move in. We are going to add the garage and bonus room at a later date, when the finances allow.

I am totally excited that in just a week or two, I will be able to write a blog post about our home actually arriving…

About Jenny Harrah

I am a daughter of God, the 22 year wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three beautiful children~ Ethan, age 21; Israel, age 18; and our princess Eden Rose, age 11. I live in the Eastern part of Tennessee, having transplanted from Virginia in my early teenage years. I enjoy reading, sewing, bargain hunting, and eating chocolate! I am blessed with a wonderful church family, and many, MANY friends~ whom I love dearly! God has been so good to me, and I pray He will do the same for you~
This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beginnings…

  1. Sheri Wiggins says:

    Aww Jen, the view is breathtaking! Can’t wait to see it all done!

Leave a Reply

