The wise man built his house upon the rock~


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Goody-goody two shoes! My house is starting to look like a home!! I must admit, even though several kept asking me to post pictures, I didn’t want to yet, because I thought my house looked like a trailer! *gasp*

You see, last Tuesday, we were told that Nationwide was bringing our Mod’s to our property. It was basically just a drop-off scenario. The date for setting the mod’s on the foundation was for this past Saturday. There are two stories to relay, out of those two small sentences! Ha!

First, on Tuesday, as I pulled out of the Walmart parking lot, I saw a green sided mod driving down the road on a semi. It just flew right past me as I pulled out of the parking lot. I nearly frightened my kids to death, and almost gave my mother-in-law a heart attack when I started yelling out of the blue “There it is!!!! There’s our house!!!!”  Needless to say, I quickly changed course, and followed the semi all the way to my property. I was so excited! But, sadly, upon closer inspection of the package…I was a little disappointed. Inwardly, I thought the mod’s looked like a glorified double-wide…Now, don’t get me wrong. I have nothing against double-wides…You all know that! It was a single wide trailer that was taken in the tornado, for crying out loud. But, I HAD thought that I might move up a little in this world. SO anyway, from the first pictures, you can see that it DOES look like a double-wide at first, but by the last pictures, I hope you will be as amazed as I was!

The second part of the story is the little drama of Nationwide saying they wanted to set the house this past Saturday. Of all the 365 days of the year, that is ONE of the precise days that I did NOT want them to call and set the house. The Saturday after Thanksgiving day has been the day, that for the last 7 or 8 years we have had Thanksgiving dinner with my mom’s side of the family in NC. It is the ONLY day of the year that all of us try to come together and I was NOT too happy about not being able to go. David and I “talked” it over(and I use that term lightly, if you know what I mean!) and decided that the kids and I would head on over to NC, and he would stay home to oversee the Set. Nationwide’s concerns that the winter weather would not hold off much longer, got us to see that we really needed to get on with the program and get the home set on the foundation. It was sad to leave ole’ Dave behind, but I ate enough for him and I, so all was good! Plus, I brought him back some of my Aunt Jane’s homemade pecan tarts, and some delicious pumpkin roll, so he didn’t feel too left out. The kids and I had a wonderful visit with my family and came home Sunday to a *surprise* H.O.U.S.E! The pictures posted here, that start on the set day, all happened within a five hour period..that’s pretty amazing to me!

The fun part is just beginning, though. The upstairs level has to be framed in, sheet rocked, and finished. The HVAC system needs installed. We need a front porch. We need flooring throughout the whole house. Eventually, we have to repaint everything, and build our garage. Plus, we have to worry about the landscaping AND finding a little spot for our chicken coop!

Have fun looking at the pictures, and come back and see me for more when I get the time to post them! I’m looking forward to each and every one of you stopping by and saying “hello” to me at our new place very soon……….

…..and we’ll leave the porch light on for ya!……………

About Jenny Harrah

I am a daughter of God, the 22 year wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three beautiful children~ Ethan, age 21; Israel, age 18; and our princess Eden Rose, age 11. I live in the Eastern part of Tennessee, having transplanted from Virginia in my early teenage years. I enjoy reading, sewing, bargain hunting, and eating chocolate! I am blessed with a wonderful church family, and many, MANY friends~ whom I love dearly! God has been so good to me, and I pray He will do the same for you~
This entry was posted in Family Life, New Home and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The wise man built his house upon the rock~

  1. Yay! So exciting. It’s Beautiful. =)

  2. Siggy Tetteh says:

    That’s an amazing story. Nice house and God bless you and yours!

  3. Hope Swims says:

    So happy for your guys! Its been a longtime coming! What a great Christmas present (EARLY)!!
    I can’t wait to see more pictures!

    • Janet Payne says:

      They were right the winter weather didnt hold off So Glad they went on and put it up.. We had a wonderful visit but missed David. Will be so thankful when all the work is done and you all are in.Twill be worth it all then. Thanking God for His Blessings on my children……Love, MOM

Leave a Reply

