“How’s your house coming along?”


If we don’t hear this question at least once a day, then we must be going deaf! Guess I should start posting more often, but I just don’t seem to have the time or desire to write very often. Writing is a funny thing, and the “urge” has to hit me just right in order for it to not be a chore~ Here’s the latest update…(for those who even give a hoot!)

The Harrah Household has been busy, busy, busy…..I so enjoy this time of year, but I’m happy to say that after this coming Sunday, things may settle down for a bit. I am off of work for two weeks, and David is almost caught up on his jobs! So, let’s see…we’ve been playing catch up with homeschooling; working three days a week; doing Christmas baking; attending parties, cookie exchanges, and Christmas programs; traveling to the National Gingerbread Festival; shopping; David has been working to get his tile business caught up; and slowly getting things started at the new house; and shopping…yes, I had to say it twice…!

I am happy to say that the electric company finally approved our system, and turned the power on. Now, we can actually plug in power tools and get to work up there! We’ve had the water pipes hooked up, and just need to get the drains together, and we will have running water. I think the next step is going to be putting in the heat/air system. We have contracted a little help with framing our upstairs so that things might move a little faster. After the front porch is built, it should be all downhill from there. We will need to put our hardwood floors and tile in, do a little painting, and hopefully start moving in around March. Things may go faster, or things may go slower…there’s no telling. This wonderful weather could give out and we could be snowed in for a month…or the money that flows so freely and swiftly from my checking account could dry up altogether….or David may almost kill himself with this working-three-months-straight-with-four-days-off! I’m just taking it one day at a time, and that’s all I can do.

I pray that everyone has a wonderful, happy Christmas, and a blessed New Year!

About Jenny Harrah

I am a daughter of God, the 22 year wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three beautiful children~ Ethan, age 21; Israel, age 18; and our princess Eden Rose, age 11. I live in the Eastern part of Tennessee, having transplanted from Virginia in my early teenage years. I enjoy reading, sewing, bargain hunting, and eating chocolate! I am blessed with a wonderful church family, and many, MANY friends~ whom I love dearly! God has been so good to me, and I pray He will do the same for you~
This entry was posted in Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “How’s your house coming along?”

  1. Katie says:

    I am ALWAYS playing catch up, lol. Because this time of year is so crazy (with the baking, and the crafts, and the gifts, and the homeschool parties, and the scout parties, and the community service projects, and the…lol), we take a break from homeschooling from Thanksgiving to New Year’s. We live in the south where the summer is fairly brutal and the boys don’t like being outside for long periods of time, so we work through June and July and only take August off in the summers. It works out well. 🙂

    I enjoyed reading this post. I am new to your blog, so I’m looking forward to going back and reading more about your house project! 🙂

    Wishing you and your family a Merry Christmas!

    Katie
    One mom who could write an essay on accidental homeschooling….

    • Jenny Harrah says:

      Welcome, Katie! It’s good to know that I am not alone in my busy holiday rush! I hope you enjoy the past blog posts…you will see that in April of this year, we lost our home to a tornado, and many friends are interested in our rebuilding process….that’s why it is brought up frequently ;o) Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  2. smiler says:

    Happy Christmas and a very Merry Holiday to the Harrahs.

Leave a Reply

