Thank goodness for Guardian Angels~


Image

Friday, David sent Ethan and a helper to work at the new house, while he went on to another tile job. I know it’s hard to believe this, but Ethan is 17, and perfectly capable of doing manual labor…(even though HE thinks life is about games and movies…..still!) The plan was for them to finish up the hardwood in one of the bedrooms, and then to dig a ditch for the cable wire so the guy could hook up our internet someday in the near future *fingers crossed*. Later that evening, after I came home from work, here is the story David related to me.

David had told Ethan to dig the ditch for the cable line. In his defense, Ethan gets told to do things sometimes, that he hasn’t actually ever done. So, he tries to reason out how to do them instead of asking for someone to show him..because he’s a guy. And he’s 17. Which = I’m-smart-and-know-I-can-figure-this-out-by-myself. David told me that about noon he got a strange feeling. He called Ethan to check on how they were doing at the house, and then gave Ethan a few little directions about digging the ditch….

“Ethan, when you dig that ditch, DON’T use the pick axe to do it.”

Silence….

“ETHAN…DID YOU ALREADY USE THE PICK AXE TO DO IT???”

Quietly, “Yes, sir.”

“Ethan, did you hit something?”

Even quieter, “Yes, sir”

Ethan had hit the main ELECTRICAL conduit line. AND cracked it open! Now, if you know anything at all about this kind of thing, you know that if you ever hit a “hot electrical wire” you are dead. D.E.A.D. Instantly. By the grace of God, he hit the conduit with the pick axe, cracked it almost in half, but didn’t touch the electrical wire. I get sick to my stomach thinking about what COULD have been, but I am thanking the dear Lord above for what didn’t happen! Shew! All I know is that Guardian Angels of 17 year old boys must be VERY busy creatures!

About Jenny Harrah

I am a daughter of God, the 22 year wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three beautiful children~ Ethan, age 21; Israel, age 18; and our princess Eden Rose, age 11. I live in the Eastern part of Tennessee, having transplanted from Virginia in my early teenage years. I enjoy reading, sewing, bargain hunting, and eating chocolate! I am blessed with a wonderful church family, and many, MANY friends~ whom I love dearly! God has been so good to me, and I pray He will do the same for you~
This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thank goodness for Guardian Angels~

  1. Mary says:

    Oh Jenny!! Yes, THANK GOD!!!
    I Love you guys!

  2. Robbin says:

    Oh my!!!Thank you Lord!!!!

Leave a Reply

