No Excuses


I know, I know…no excuses from me on NOT writing since May! You guys know the drill, anyway. Moving into the new house, getting settled, decorating, school starting, etc….etc…. I sometimes run across something I REALLY want to blog about, but by the time I sit down to actually do it, I fall asleep! ha!

So, a lot has been going on. We STILL haven’t completely finished the house OR closed on our loan. The bank isn’t banging down the doors telling us to “hurry up” and being Procrastinator Royalty… (i.e. the King and Queen of Procrastination) we just keep telling ourselves we will get down to business. …tomorrow….. Isn’t there a famous quote that says “Whatever you are, be a good one.” We sure are good procrastinators!

There is so much that has happened these past four months that I don’t even know where to start. Hmm….Israel started at the local high school, and Eden started second grade at the local elementary school. Ethan is working on his Senior Year with his correspondence school from home. We just had his Senior pictures made with an awesome photographer, and that was a big highlight. I think he enjoyed it as much as I did…which is really saying something. He doesn’t seem to get into things like that much.

We finally got our first honey harvest. It turned out wonderful! We got over five gallons from one hive. It was a big trial and error process, and a huge sticky mess, but the end result was totally worth it! We ended up selling a small amount to help cover a few of the expenses, such as jars, lids, and renting the centrifuge; and we have gotten rave reviews about the product. I would love to get another hive or two going, but since I’m not the one who has to actually DEAL with the bees and get stung, I’m not sure if David will get around to starting the new colonies.

Cutting wax caps off honey with a hot knife

Scrapping caps to make sure honey can flow out

placing frames into centrifuge unit

honey pouring out

five gallons of honey!

Hhhhmmm…what else??? Oh, we had our annual church Fall Festival. And even though we didn’t have our usual Redneck Venison Nugget booth this year, it was an enjoyable day. We also had wonderful friends staying with us for a visit that weekend, and caught up with many more friends at the festival. It sure makes me long for another time when we will always be in a place where we can visit~

The Martins and The Harrahs

There’s more, I’m sure, but it’s getting late and I’m tired. I may write more again soon. Or not…. one never knows. Especially coming from the Queen of Procrastination!

About Jenny Harrah

I am a daughter of God, the 24 year wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three beautiful children~ Ethan, age 23; Israel, age 20; and our princess Eden Rose, age 13. I live in the Eastern part of Tennessee, having transplanted from Virginia in my early teenage years. I enjoy reading, sewing, bargain hunting, and eating chocolate! I am blessed with a wonderful church family, and many, MANY friends~ whom I love dearly! God has been so good to me, and I pray He will do the same for you~
This entry was posted in Family Life, Homesteading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to No Excuses

  1. Robbin says:

    We sure enjoyed our visit, miss you guys and I can’t wait until our next visit….
    Love ya,Robbin

Leave a comment