Birthdays…


My mom’s birthday dinner

We always begin October with a Bang, and literally do not stop until the end of the month. I don’t know why we know SO. MANY. PEOPLE. who were born this month. Count back approximately 40 weeks, though, and you are right at New Years~ LOL~ Maybe that explains it.

My middle son, Israel, turned 15~

My Sister-in-Law’s birthday is October 3rd. My mom’s is October 5th. My son’s is October 9th. Mine is October 24th.  In between those dates are SEVERAL friends and distant family member’s birthdays…not to mention anniversaries, and let’s not forget Halloween. I also usually take a short mini vacation this month. So you can see that we are not dying from boredom any time soon!

Nonnie and Israel, with his new Ripstik

I found a great deal on a RipStik that I posted on Facebook a few months back. I’ve been hoarding it in my closet until Israel’s birthday. Always keep your eyes open for a good deal, and get it as soon as you can. Especially internet deals. Most of the time, these deals do not last long. Take it from me, you will be kicking yourself if you let some of them pass! (and Israel’s arm is not seriously hurt in this picture. He just said it was bothering him, so he put on his old sling cast for a bit..probably to drum up some extra birthday lovin’)

October is just one big, happy party around here

We (and I use that term loosely…”we” usually means David and the boys! ha!) spent the past weekend seeding/strawing the yard around here. Some sweet friends of the family came to help us Friday AND Saturday in exchange for some Redneck Venison Nuggets on the grill. We haven’t fixed nuggets in over a year, so they surely hit the spot. Plus, we got to check off another item on our to-do list for our final house inspection. Yay!

After we had a small celebration for Israel’s birthday, tonight, David got my fireplace going. Although we argued discussed whether to put our old gas fireplace in, or our newer wood burning stove, the thought of getting up on cold mornings and just turning a knob to light the fire won out. Well, it was either that, or my constant begging of David to PLEASE, PLEASE just put the gas fireplace in and keep the wood stove in storage for the “economic collapses” if it ever happens!!!!! Against his wishes, he put my gas fireplace in, and I sit here now in front of it. I can not express how such a simple thing makes this house feel like a home to me! This fixture was my favorite piece in our old home that was taken by a tornado. It has a few dings and scratches, but to me, it is lovely.

Feeling like home once again!

We also had our gutters installed on the house this past week. We have surely been trying to get this place all fixed up before winter. I think once we have signed off on the loan papers and are all squared away, I will be able to breathe a sigh of relief. That is, until David starts with his big plans of putting in the garage and paving the driveway!

View of Tennessee Mountains from our front porch

One final picture is our new view from the front porch. I never thought I would have a view so nice as our old one in Greeneville (as seen in this post)…but I have to say that this comes awful close. Come see us and check it out for yourself!

About Jenny Harrah

I am a daughter of God, the 22 year wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three beautiful children~ Ethan, age 21; Israel, age 18; and our princess Eden Rose, age 11. I live in the Eastern part of Tennessee, having transplanted from Virginia in my early teenage years. I enjoy reading, sewing, bargain hunting, and eating chocolate! I am blessed with a wonderful church family, and many, MANY friends~ whom I love dearly! God has been so good to me, and I pray He will do the same for you~
This entry was posted in Family Life, New Home and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Birthdays…

  1. Robbin says:

    Happy Birthday to everyone!!! I love the view!! Robbin

Leave a Reply

