Frugal Friday


Being frugal is probably the first thought people have of me when they think of me. Okay, maybe the word they think is “cheap”, but I sure hope it isn’t the word “stingy”! Anyway, I thought it would be neat to post a list, occasionally, of the things I do to be frugal. I like to be frugal. It’s not something someone makes me do. It’s just something I enjoy doing! No, we aren’t in the depths of despair financially, although there have been times in life when we were. I just LOVE it. The end. Now, on to my list from this week:

I canned 8 jars of FREE tomatoes given to me from a friend.

I canned 9 jars of  FREE corn given to me by my in-laws.

I made 2 loaves of zucchini bread with FREE zucchini given to me by my in-laws.

I took the rind from the lemon that I used in my zucchini bread ingredients, and deodorized my garbage disposal with it.

I hung out Ethan’s bedding on the porch railing, after washing, to save money on the dryer use.

Walmart paid me .02 to take out a package of Bic razors, using a $3 coupon from Sunday’s paper. I ordered 10 more of these coupons off of Ebay and will be using them next week. 10 coupons cost me 2.99, so for the cost of one package of razors, I will be getting 11 packages of razors. Each package has 10 double bladed razors. So, that will be 110 razors in total!

Used a FREE travel size item coupon at Bath and Body works, and got a small bottle of lotion. No other purchase was necessary.

Used a FREE coupon for a Pal’s frenchie fry. Yum!

Gave myself a pedicure using this blog link that I found on Pinterest. I have been using this method for over a year. It has saved me a TON of money. I used to pay $60 every 4-6 weeks to get a Pedicure. I have not been back to the Spa for a pedicure since I started using this method. My pedicure lasts a month or more, too.

Colored my own hair at home using a more natural coloring kit that I always purchase from Vitacost. Vitacost has the best deals on a lot of natural and organic items. Plus, they usually send out REALLY good coupons a few times a year to your email address. I usually wait for one of these good coupons and then stock up on the items I need.

Earned a $5 Amazon credit through Swagbucks.

Earned a $20 credit to Amazon through Valued Opinions. Technically, it took me a while to earn enough money to get this credit, but I finally got to redeem it this week, so that’s why it is in this weeks post.

So, what frugal things did YOU do this week? Leave me a comment and let me know. I am interested in hearing about it!!

About Jenny Harrah

I am a daughter of God, the 22 year wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three beautiful children~ Ethan, age 21; Israel, age 18; and our princess Eden Rose, age 11. I live in the Eastern part of Tennessee, having transplanted from Virginia in my early teenage years. I enjoy reading, sewing, bargain hunting, and eating chocolate! I am blessed with a wonderful church family, and many, MANY friends~ whom I love dearly! God has been so good to me, and I pray He will do the same for you~
This entry was posted in Frugality. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Frugal Friday

  1. Robbin says:

    Girl… Wish I was more like you .. I need you to teach me some your ways..Your not stingy..Your stingy, your smart so take that money you’ve saved and come see me..;) Robbin

    • Jenny Harrah says:

      Sure wish I could, Robbin! Our transmission has been needing replaced since we got this van last year. I’ve been babying it, and it has lasted this far. When it finally gives out and we have to fork over all that money to get it fixed, THEN I can start visiting again 😉

Leave a Reply

