Frugal Friday II


Here are my Frugal Endeavors this week:

Finally, tried again to make homemade yogurt. The first time was a complete flop. I used this page to help me through the details. It was a SUCCESS! Yay. And as if making homemade yogurt wasn’t frugal enough, I used a package of powdered milk my mom gave me to make it, saving me even more money.

Then, I made some homemade Cranberry Almond granola to go with my yogurt.

I made a batch of homemade laundry detergent. I used Ivory Soap, though, since I have tons of it that I got for free last year.

I received an email for $10 of any item from L.L. Bean. They always have free shipping, so I purchased a water bottle for ZERO dollars. You heard right. The water bottle was 9.95. So using the $10 off coupon and free shipping, my order was 0.00.

ll bean water bottle

Used an old Gymboree rewards credit to buy Eden a much needed raincoat, delivered to our front door for 1.75 out of pocket.

gymboree raincoat

Mended a dress for Eden that’s been hanging in her closet, unworn, for a while.

Read a FREE book from a publishing company in exchange for writing an honest review on Amazon and my blog.

Used a Soap.com Living Social deal to buy 3 mega packages of toilet paper for .27

Used an Amazon deal to purchase even more toilet paper and paper towels for around 20 bucks. We should be stocked on TP  for the rest of the year.

Purchased two Christmas presents on Amazon using some free credit from Swagbucks.

Earned another $5 Amazon credit using Swagbucks.

Received 7 single serve instant coffee samples in the mail.

Found an American Eagle jacket for Ethan for $2, a pair of Levi Jeans for Israel for $1, a roll of vintage pink velvet ribbon for .50, and a vintage thermos (I’ve been looking forever for one with a good price) for $1. I bought all that at a little store downtown that I did not know existed until my mother-in-law showed it to me~ AFTER I let her buy me lunch on Thursday! Hey, she offered!! I did leave the tip, though 😉

What did YOU do to save some hard earned cash this week?

About Jenny Harrah

I am a daughter of God, the 22 year wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three beautiful children~ Ethan, age 21; Israel, age 18; and our princess Eden Rose, age 11. I live in the Eastern part of Tennessee, having transplanted from Virginia in my early teenage years. I enjoy reading, sewing, bargain hunting, and eating chocolate! I am blessed with a wonderful church family, and many, MANY friends~ whom I love dearly! God has been so good to me, and I pray He will do the same for you~
This entry was posted in Frugality. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

