Frugal Friday IV


Seems like once you fall of the frugal wagon one week, it sure is hard to get back on the next! It’s been a busy week for me, and when I am busy, it is hard for me to concentrate on being very frugal. Hmm..let’s see…

I went to Hobby Lobby and bought some material (with a coupon) to recover a $5 thrift store office chair that I am using in the new sewing nook that I am creating upstairs. My sweet husband took a few minutes and re-upholstered it for me and I absolutely love it. I will post pics of my nook when it gets complete (and yes, this is MY project, so it isn’t going to take two or three years to finish like SOME people’s projects….I won’t mention any names here, but said person lives with me!!!)

I made a home-made pumpkin pie completely from scratch. I had cooked a pumpkin last fall, and froze the pumpkin puree. I made the crust from scratch. When looking over the recipe, I realized I did not have the usual evaporated milk called for, so I kept googling until I found a recipe that had the ingredients that I had on hand. I ended up using cream and the pie was delicious! Using what you have on hand, and not running to the store for every little item is VERY frugal!

Yesterday I had lunch at Starbucks for .29. Earlier in the year, I had purchased a Groupon (before Starbucks’ irritating stand on marriage was brought to light) and I refused to use it. This week, I received an email stating that it was getting ready to expire. While driving around town running errands with only $3 cash in my wallet, I started to think of where I could eat for cheap. I saw the Starbucks sign in the distance, and immediately started salivating just thinking of their Pumpkin Spice Lattes. Before I realized what I was doing, I was standing at the counter with the Latte in one hand, and a ham & swiss pannini in the other. I know, I’m weak!

The only other real frugal thing I did this week was say “yes” to subbing at the school again. If I am working and making money, it means I am not in town spending it!

What did you guys do this week to be frugal?

About Jenny Harrah

I am a daughter of God, the 22 year wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three beautiful children~ Ethan, age 21; Israel, age 18; and our princess Eden Rose, age 11. I live in the Eastern part of Tennessee, having transplanted from Virginia in my early teenage years. I enjoy reading, sewing, bargain hunting, and eating chocolate! I am blessed with a wonderful church family, and many, MANY friends~ whom I love dearly! God has been so good to me, and I pray He will do the same for you~
This entry was posted in Frugality. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

