Book Review: Spark Joy by Marie Kondo


After reading The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up, I knew I wanted to read Marie Kondo’s second book: Spark Joy. Although you really should read her first book before diving in to this one for full understanding, you could read this one for organizational inspiration. Marie goes into depth about her “KonMari” process of organizing your home. This concept is based on the idea of piling all the items of a certain category in one big pile, touching each item, and deciding whether the item “sparks joy”. You should discard the items that do not “spark joy”, therefore making your home a haven by having only things that bring joy to you.

This idea has been around for many years, as reflected in the quote by William Morris in 1880: If you want a golden rule that will fit everybody, this is it: Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful.

So, while this idea is not a new idea, the recent addition of Ms. Kondo’s books have started a world-wide revolution of the concept…and in my opinion, that is not a bad thing, but a very needed idea in this consumer-crazed society!

I received a copy of this book for review purposes. All opinions are entirely my own. 9781607749721

About Jenny Harrah

I am a daughter of God, the 22 year wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three beautiful children~ Ethan, age 21; Israel, age 18; and our princess Eden Rose, age 11. I live in the Eastern part of Tennessee, having transplanted from Virginia in my early teenage years. I enjoy reading, sewing, bargain hunting, and eating chocolate! I am blessed with a wonderful church family, and many, MANY friends~ whom I love dearly! God has been so good to me, and I pray He will do the same for you~
This entry was posted in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

